Skip to content

America vs Italy, Land of the Free Edition

May 28, 2011

Today I read a post by an American friend of mine who reluctantly ended his personal boycott of showing ID to get allergy meds at the pharmacy. You can tell from his language that he was pretty pissed off that he had to cave in finally because his allergies were so severe:

This past Sunday I fucking caved.

After 48 hours of a dry convulsive cough and nasal congestion that made my nose feel like a brick, I went to CVS and asked a pharmacist for help. “I’m taking loratadine,” I said, “and gualfenisin, and tussin at night.”

“You’ll definitely need some pseudoephedrine,” she said. “Can I see your photo ID?”

And I fucking gave it to her. I let her put my fucking name in some fucking database like a god-damned criminal. I had to sign the fucking release stating that I wouldn’t try to buy more than 9 fucking grams in a 30-day period (good thing I don’t have a child who suffers from allergies). Now I’m one accounting mistake away from a fucking jail term.

I linked to his post this morning on my FB, but this evening something relevant occurred which requires that I bring it up again. Crys, Illy, and I have been suffering with some ailment I’ve dubbed the Palermo Flu, and it sucks. Illy is getting better now, but Crys and I are just coming to full term and it sucks. A deep, hacking, wheezing cough with fever and such. It’s the deepest, nastiest cough I’ve ever had. I boycott medicine for the most part because I like my body to build up its own immunities, as does Crys, but this affliction is annoying as hell and Crys has a runway show to walk on Sunday, so we need to purge. A good friend of ours has a 24-Hour Farmacia near his place so, check this out…

He stopped in there as a third party and picked up 2 complete cycles of antibiotics for us (1 for Crys, 1 for Me) for 12 Euros and no ID. They weren’t even for him. No prescription, no ID, 3rd Party, antibiotics for 2, 24 hour carry out, no questions asked. And you’re telling me America is “The Land of the Free”? Just thought I’d share this little anecdote.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 28, 2011 5:03 am

    Just FYI to your friend> Allegra (fexofenadine) is your friend, hopefully. It worked wonders for me and my girl. And it just recently became OTC which, on topic, means that I don’t have to spend a ridiculous amount of time and money to get a 60 god damn day prescription of something that couldn’t be abused if I wanted to.

Leave a Reply

